Zeetta Networks co-founders receive prestigious IEEE Award for best optical communications & networking innovation.

Bristol, UK

Zeetta Networks announced today that three of its co-founders; Mr Mayur Channegowda, Dr Reza Nejabati and Prof. Dimitra Simeonidou have been selected as winners of the IEEE Communications Society Charles Kao Award 2016 in recognition for their pioneering work in Software-Defined Networking (SDN).

The award is given to researchers for their pioneering work that “…opens new lines of research, envisions bold approaches to optical communication and networking, formulates new problems to solve, and essentially enlarge the field of optical communications and networking..”. 

This prestigious accolade has been given to Zeetta Networks’ co-founders for their paper entitled: “Software-Defined Optical Networks Technology and Infrastructure: Enabling Software-Defined Optical Network Operations”, which was first published at the IEEE Journal of Optical Communications and Networking in 2013.

The paper introduced -for the first time- the idea of a “unified control architecture” which extends SDN beyond packet-switched networks to cover other types of networks including optical, wireless, Internet-of-Things (IoT) etc. all under a centralised network control based on open standards.

The same vision, as captured in that paper, is now the cornerstone of Zeetta Networks’ commercial proposition which enables monitoring, management and automation of data flows across different types of connected devices in heterogeneous networks. This integrated approach results in a significant increase in network performance and productivity.

Vassilis Seferidis, CEO of Zeetta Networks, commented: “It makes me incredibly proud to lead a team of world-class engineers who literally define the Telecoms industry today. My colleagues have contributed many original ideas to the Open Networking community through their research work in the University of Bristol and industry associations like Open Networking Forum (ONF). This award is yet another validation of their innovative thinking and vision which is now widely recognised by the international community.”

The award will be presented at the IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC) 2016 in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia on 24th May 2016.

Source: http://www.comsoc.org/about/memberprograms...